Ambassadors of European Union member states have decided to extend sanctions in the form of asset freezing and an entry ban imposed for violating territorial integrity, sovereignty, and independence of Ukraine.

A source in the EU Council has told an UNIAN  in Brussels that the relevant decision was made at a Wednesday meeting of the Committee of Permanent Representatives (COREPER).

Read alsoTrump acknowledges Russia's meddling in U.S. elections – White HouseThe EU Council said that COREPER had decided to extend sanctions for actions that undermine or threaten territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.

Sanctions have been extended against 150 persons and 38 companies for another six months.

As UNIAN reported earlier, the European Union on December 21 formally approved an earlier decision to extend for another six months economic sanctions against Russia over Moscow's aggression toward Ukraine.