Photo from

The European Union has announced that its sanctions over actions against Ukraine's territorial integrity have been prolonged until September 15, 2018.

"On March 12, 2018, the Council prolonged the restrictive measures over actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine for a further six months, until September 15, 2018," the Council of the European Union said in an announcement on March 12.

Read alsoEU envoys agree to prolong sanctions against Yanukovych and allies

The measures consist of asset freezes and travel restrictions. They continue to apply to 150 persons and 38 entities.

"An assessment of the situation did not justify a change in the sanctions regime. The relevant information and statement of reasons for the listing of these persons and entities were updated as necessary," it said.

The legal acts will available in the EU Official Journal of March 13, 2018.

Other EU measures in place in response to the Ukraine crisis include economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, currently in place until July 31, 2018; restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol, currently in place until June 23, 2018.