Deliberate non-recognition of Crimea, Donbas as Ukraine's territory may be criminalized

10:49, 10 July 2019
996 0

The bill was submitted by Rada Chairman Andriy Parubiy, and MPs Viktoria Siumar and Maria Ionova, Radio Liberty's Ukrainian service reported with reference to the parliament's website.

Read alsoEU Council: Non-recognition policy on Crimea's annexation fundamental to EU's approach to cooperation in Black Sea

It is noted the bill was registered on July 5, submitted to the respective committee on July 8, and presented to MPs on July 9.

The authors of the bill propose that Part 1 of Article 110 of the Criminal Code of Ukraine be amended as follows:

"Deliberate acts committed to redraw the borders of the territory or Ukraine's state border in violation of the procedure established by the Constitution of Ukraine, as well as public appeals or spreading materials calling for such actions, deliberate non-recognition of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol, certain districts, cities, towns and villages of Donetsk and Luhansk regions as the territory of Ukraine shall be punished by imprisonment for a period of three to five years with confiscation of property or without it."

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter