Photo from UNIAN

De-facto "head" of Russia-occupied Crimea Sergey Aksyonov has been re-elected for another five years.

Read alsoUkraine's ex-deputy minister explains why Russia wants to rename Crimea

According to the results of the vote, Aksyonov's candidacy was supported by 74 lawmakers of the so-called "republican parliament," the Russian news agency RIA Novosti reported.

Видео дня

UNIAN memo. Russia annexed Ukraine's Crimea in March 2014 after its troops had occupied the peninsula. An illegal referendum was held for Crimeans to decide on accession to Russia. De-facto Crimean authorities reported that allegedly 96.77% of the Crimean population had voted for joining Russia. On March 18, 2014, the so-called agreement on the accession of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol to Russia was signed in the Kremlin. The West did not recognize the annexation in response to which sanctions against Russia were introduced. Ukraine's parliament voted to designate February 20, 2014, as the official date when the temporary occupation of Crimea began.