"The Committee of Permanent Representatives in the EU has approved the prolongation of sanctions against 175 individuals and 44 organizations involved in undermining the territorial integrity of Ukraine," Representative of Ukraine to the European Union Mykola Tochytskyi said on Facebook on March 4. "This decision is especially valuable on the eve of the 6th anniversary of the occupation of Crimea and demonstrates the EU's unity in the non-recognition policy. We look forward to further practical steps by the EU and in response to the launch of Russia's rail link with occupied Crimea."

Read alsoEU to prolong Russia sanctions over Crimea annexation – journalist

As UNIAN reported earlier, the corresponding sanctions were first introduced in 2014, and they were prolonged every six months.

Also, the list of individuals under sanctions was replenished with new names due to the ongoing violation of the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.

The last time the sanctions were extended for six months on September 12, 2019, until March 15, 2020.