President enacts new military-administrative division of Ukraine

19:53, 05 February 2016
488 0

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has enacted the new military-administrative division of Ukrainian territory, stipulated in a decision by the National Security and Defense Council dated January 27, 2016, according to the presidential administration.

President Petro Poroshenko has introduced a new military and administrative division / Photo from

The military-administrative division of Ukraine determines territorial and geographic limits of responsibility for the military governance units of the Armed Forces of Ukraine in the context of the fulfillment of administrative-military functions in the sphere of defense on land, in the air and at sea taking into account the territory recognized temporarily occupied under the laws of Ukraine and the resolutions of the Verkhovna Rada.

The new military-administrative division of Ukraine was introduced in line with the Military Doctrine of Ukraine, which envisages the mechanisms of response to military security threats, particularly those from the Russian Federation.

It also follows structural changes in the Ukrainian military's control system, which is being improved in keeping with the plan of reform of the Armed Forces of Ukraine and the strategic plan of engaging the armed forces, other military units and law enforcement agencies in countering armed aggression against Ukraine. Both plans were approved by President Poroshenko.

The presidential order outlines and regulates the legal aspects of the delimitation of the territory of the state split into the military-administrative districts in the interests of ensuring the defense of Ukraine.

Ukraine's land territory is divided into four military zones of land and a separate military district, which are the area of responsibility of the North, South, West and East operational commands.

Ukraine's airspace is split into three military air zones and one separate military district, which are the area of responsibility of the West, South and Center air commands.

Given the legal status of the temporarily occupied territories of the internal sea waters and territorial sea of Ukraine around Crimean peninsula and parts of Donetsk region, the country's maritime space is divided into the Black Sea and Azov naval zones of responsibility of the Navy command of the Armed Forces of Ukraine.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter