EU calls on all UN member states to join sanctions against Russia

12:45, 18 March 2016
499 0

High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini has called on UN Member States to adhere to non-recognition policy of the illegal annexation of Crimea by the Russian Federation.


"Two years on from the illegal annexation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol by the Russian Federation, the European Union remains firmly committed to Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity," Mogherini said in her declaration published on the official website of the European Council.

"The European Union reiterates that it does not recognize and continues to condemn this violation of international law. It remains a direct challenge to international security, with grave implications for the international legal order that protects the unity and sovereignty of all states," she said.

Read alsoGermany, France confirm anti-Russia sanctions until full Minsk implementationAccording to Mogherini, the European Union remains committed to fully implementing its non-recognition policy, including through restrictive measures.

"The EU calls again on UN Member States to consider similar non-recognition measures in line with the UNGA Resolution 68/262," she said.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter