Five countries align with EU's anti-Russia sanctions until mid-March

22:06, 24 October 2016
695 0

Ukraine, Montenegro, Albania, Liechtenstein, and Norway have aligned themselves with the sanctions extended by the Council of the European Union against Russia as restrictive measures for undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine. 


"The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA [European Free Trade Association] countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this Council Decision," reads a declaration by High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini.

The Council on September 15, 2016, extended the existing measures until March 15, 2017, having simultaneously amended the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex to Decision 2014/145/CFSP.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council decision," the declaration reads.

The European Union says it takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Read alsoEU prolongs for 6 mths sanctions over violation of Ukraine's sovereigntyAs UNIAN reported earlier, the European Union on September 15, 2016, extended sanctions against 146 individuals and 37 companies for the violation of Ukraine's territorial integrity and sovereignty.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter