Seven President to attend forum in Ukraine in memory of Holodomor

18:14, 17 November 2008

Participation of another five is being discussed

Presidents of seven countries, namely Macedonia, Estonia, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Georgia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, confirmed their participation in the international forum dedicated to the memory of the 75th Anniversary of the Holodomor Famine in 1932-1933.

According to an UNIAN correspondent, top deputy Foreign Minister of Ukraine Yuri Kostenko claimed this to a briefing on Monday.

According to him, the participation of another 5 foreign delegations headed by Presidents is being discussed.

He also said the events would be attended by some parliamentary delegations, in particular from Moldova, France, Argentina, Brazil, Hungary, Spain, Croatia, Finland, and Liechtenstein.

Also participating are a delegation from UNESCO, the European parliament, the OSCE [the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe], and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. On the whole, representatives of around 40 countries will come to Ukraine to participate in events dedicated to the memory of the 75th Anniversary of the Holodomor.

He also pointed out that President of Russian Federation had refused to take part in the Holodomor events.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter