"The decision has been made," the Council said.

The relevant decision concerning 15 persons will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union on Saturday, March 4, after which it will enter into force.

As UNIAN reported earlier, EU ambassadors on March 2, 2017, decided to extend sanctions against fugitive ex-president of Ukraine Viktor Yanukovych and his allies for another 12 months.

UNIAN memo. The EU on March 6, 2014, froze assets of former Ukrainian officials in office during Yanukovych's presidency for misuse of public funds and human rights violations. The sanctions were last extended a year ago.

On the sanction list are Yanukovych, ex-prime minister Mykola Azarov, former interior minister Vitaliy Zakharchenko, former prosecutor general Viktor Pshonka and his son Artem Pshonka, former justice minister Olena Lukash, former head of the presidential administration Andriy Kliuyev and his brother, former MP Serhiy Kliuyev. Subject to the EU sanctions are also former deputy interior minister Viktor Ratushniak, former first vice prime minister Serhiy Arbuzov, former tax minister Oleksandr Klymenko, former energy minister Eduard Stavytskiy, former education minister Dmytro Tabachnyk, and energy tycoon Serhiy Kurchenko.