Over 1,500 Russian citizens have been refused entry to Ukraine after the introduction of martial law in the country on November 26.

"We have been taking such [security] measures until martial law is in effect, but if needed we will of course continue enhanced security regime," Oleh Slobodyan, an aide to the Ukrainian State Border Guard Service's chief, told Channel 112 Ukraine.

Foreign citizens who fail to confirm the purpose of their trip or have exceeded their period of stay in Ukraine during the previous visits are refused entry to Ukraine.

Meanwhile, Russian border guards did not let 350 Ukrainian citizens enter Russia during this period without explaining reasons.

Read alsoCitizens of 52 countries to be able to apply for Ukraine's e-visa from January 1

As UNIAN reported earlier, after Russian forces attacked three Ukrainian navy boats near the Kerch Strait in the Black Sea on November 25, Ukraine introduced martial law in 10 regions from November 26 to December 26. These are the regions that are located along the Russian border and the Transnistrian section of the Ukrainian-Moldovan border, as well as along the Black Sea and the Sea of Azov.

On November 30, Chairman of the State Border Guard Service of Ukraine Petro Tsyhykal announced that Russian male citizens aged 16 to 60 years would have limited access to Ukrainian territory in connection with the introduction of martial law.