The semi-finals of the national selection are scheduled for February 10 and 17 with the final taking place on February 24, according to

Ukraine hosted the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv under the slogan Celebrate Diversity and this year the theme continues with 18 acts participating in the national selection for Eurovision 2018 with 16 different styles of music.   

The contestants are The Erised, Serhii Babkin, CONSTANTINE, Kozak System, The VIO, Julinoza, Dilemma, KAZKA, Yurcash, Mountain Breeze, Ingret Kostenko, Vil’na, LAUD, TAYANNA, KADNAY, Pur:Pur, MELOVIN, and ILLARIA 

Read alsoJamala sells Eurovision dresses to help homeless dogs of Kyiv – mediaAccording to musical producer Ruslan Kvinta, all songs in the 2018 national selection have been written by the artists themselves, a change from previous years.

"We received more than 1,000 applications during the first stage of the selection. It shows how intensively our music industry is developing. We have put emphasis on the quality of songs. They need to combine the love of music, daring solutions and the identity of the artist. It does not matter whether the artist is popular or not. We have done colossal work, and I can assure everyone that viewers will hear high quality music and see – I dare say – strong artists. Personally, I believe in each of them. Furthermore, all songs were written by the participants, which makes me very happy as a musical producer," said Ruslan Kvinta. 

O.Torvald represented Ukraine in 2017 with the song Time. Ukraine automatically qualified for the Grand Final in 2017 as it was the host country but in 2018 it will return to the Semi-Finals once more. When Ukraine has participated in Eurovision it has never missed a Grand Final.