This was announced by Ukrainian presidential administration's spokesman for the ATO, Colonel Andriy Lysenko at a briefing in Kyiv on Sunday, an UNIAN correspondent reported.

"We lost three Ukrainian soldiers in fighting yesterday, another 17 were wounded," Lysenko said.

According to him, two soldiers were killed near the village of Lozove along the defense line of the town of Svitlodarsk in Donetsk region and the third one in the town of Schastia in Luhansk region.

In the early hours of May 17, Russian-backed militants shelled over 10 villages and towns in the ATO zone in Donbas.

As UNIAN reported earlier, on February 12, Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko, Russian President Vladimir Putin, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President François Hollande held talks in Minsk to resolve the conflict in Donbas.

Following the talks, the parties approved a package of measures aimed at the implementation of the Minsk agreements of September 2014. The leaders of Ukraine, France, Germany and the Russian Federation adopted a declaration in support of these measures.

In addition to other provisions of the new agreements reached by the 'Normandy Four' leaders on February 12, the parties agreed on a ceasefire to be effective from 0001, February 15, as well as the withdrawal of all heavy weapons. The agreements also provide for the release and exchange of all prisoners of war and civil hostages.

Despite the fact that a ceasefire was supposed to come into force, the militants have continued to attack the positions of the Ukrainian armed forces throughout the territory of Donbas, Ukraine's military says.