President of the European Council Charles Michel and President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen have signed an agreement on the withdrawal of the UK from the European Union.

Read alsoZelensky: Right moment for Ukraine to join EU after Brexit

"Today I signed the UK Withdrawal Agreement for the EU together with @vonderleyen," Michel wrote on Twitter on January 24, 2020.

"Things will inevitably change but our friendship will remain. We start a new chapter as partners and allies. Hâte d'écrire ensemble cette nouvelle page [Look forward to writing this new page together]," he tweeted.

"@eucopresident Charles Michel and I have just signed the Agreement on the Withdrawal of the UK from the EU, opening the way for its ratification by the European Parliament," Ursula von der Leyen said on Twitter.

The European Parliament will meet on January 29 to discuss and ratify the agreement.

Queen Elizabeth II on Thursday signed the Brexit bill and thus paved the way for the country to leave the EU next week.

Britain will officially leave the European Union on January 31.