The EU Council on Friday, March 13, decided that current sanctions in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine should be extended for a further six months until September 15, 2020.

"These restrictive measures provide not only for a freezing of funds, but also a prohibition against making funds or other economic resources available to the listed persons," the statement reads.

Read alsoU.S. sanctions another subsidiary of Russia's Rosneft over Venezuela oil

They currently apply to 175 persons and 44 entities, following the removal of two deceased persons from the list.

Other EU measures in place include:

  • Economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, currently in place until 31 July 2020; and
  • Restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol, currently in place until 23 June 2020.

The legal acts were published in the Official Journal on March 13, 2020.