Czech Republic ratifies EU-Ukraine Association Agreement

11:00, 18 September 2015
348 0

The Czech parliament ratified the Association Agreement between Ukraine and the European Union late Thursday, Ceske noviny has reported.

"The debate on the ratification of the Association Agreement between the EU and Ukraine lasted about eight hours and ended five minutes to midnight by voting, in which 107 lawmakers supported the ratification of the agreement, while 29 deputies from the Communist Party were against it," the report says.

As reported earlier, on Thursday the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Parliament had to vote for the ratification of the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement. Thus, the process of ratification of the Agreement by the lower house of the Czech Parliament was unlocked.

It should be noted that after the vote for the ratification by the Chamber of Deputies, the relevant law should be signed by Czech President Milos Zeman, who is known for his anti-Ukrainian and pro-Kremlin stance.

Read alsoItalian Senate ratifies EU-Ukraine Association AgreementThe Czech Senate ratified the Association Agreement between Ukraine and the EU on December 10, 2014.

As of September 16, the Association Agreement between Ukraine and the EU was ratified by 24 out of 28 EU member states. Two more countries - Belgium and the Czech Republic – have not completed this process. Only two countries - Greece and Cyprus - have not held a single vote on the issue. According to experts, these countries deliberately delay the process.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter