The voting involved 101 MPs, of which 55 supported the resolution and 44 were against it. It should be noted that the National Assembly consists of 577 MPs.

Read alsoFrench politician plans to visit Crimea, Donbas in response to PACE resolution

According to Europeiska Pravda, the draft resolution was submitted by MP Thierry Mariani, who is Co-president of Association Dialogue Franco-Russe. In July 2015, he led a delegation of French MPs during their visit to the Russian-occupied territory of Crimea.

Read alsoMerkel, Hollande reiterate support for Ukraine-EU Association AgreementThe resolution is advisory in nature and does not oblige the authorities to take concrete action.