Such an agreement was reached between the countries that are involved in the investigation into this case – the Netherlands, Belgium, Australia, Malaysia, and Ukraine.

Court hearings could take place in The Hague, the media said.

UNIAN memo. Malaysia Airlines' MH17 Boeing 777 heading from Amsterdam for Kuala Lumpur was shot down on July 17, 2014, over militant-occupied territory in Donetsk region. All 298 people on board who were citizens of 10 countries were killed in the crash. The majority of the victims, 196, were citizens of the Netherlands.

Read alsoFSB isolates one of key witnesses in MH17 case – OSINT groupThe Dutch Safety Board October 13, 2015, issued a report on the causes of the accident. It was revealed that the plane had been shot down by a Buk anti-aircraft missile system. The Joint Investigation Team (JIT) in its report published on September 28, 2016, confirmed that the plane had been downed by a Russian-made Buk brought to Ukraine from Russia. The missile launch site was located in militant-controlled Pervomaisk.

Nearly 100 people are among the suspects in the case.

Russia said the report could not be perceived as the "ultimate truth," calling the JIT conclusions "preliminary."

Bellingcat's team of investigative journalists published a report on June 5 with proof that the Buk originated from Russia.