The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded jointly to Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, an activist of the Women of Liberia Mass Action for Peace, and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen, the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo announced on Friday, according to RIA Novosti.

The three women were honored "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women`s rights to full participation in peace-building work".