Four countries have joined the Council of the European Union in imposing sanctions against nine persons responsible for organizing the so-called local "elections" in Russian-occupied Donbas, eastern Ukraine.

Read alsoU.S., EU close to agreeing to new sanctions on Russia – FT

"The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, align themselves with this declaration," according to a declaration by High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini, the European Council said in a press release.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision," it said.

It is reported the European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

As UNIAN reported earlier, EU foreign ministers on December 10, 2018, imposed sanctions against those responsible for organizing the so-called "elections" in Donbas.