Following the start of Russian aggression against Ukraine, Ukraine has introduced a "blacklist" of foreign nationals who are considered a "threat to national security", according to Ukranian authorities.

Ukraine's Ministry of Culture also has a "whitelist" of foreign public figures, according to Euronews.

Russians dominate both, as tensions between Moscow and Kyiv have reached a post-Soviet high.

Ukraine has not given an explanation why individuals are put on the "blacklist" directory, but people perceived to have made pro-Russian comments can quickly find themselves on the list.

It is Ukraine's security forces who provide the Ministry of Culture with the names of influential persons who they have identified as a national security threat.

Read alsoSBU imposes entry ban against actor Steven Seagal, cites threat to national security

Once identified, Ukrainian radio and broadcast companies are barred from airing any forms of entertainment involving the cultural figure.

Although the majority of the people on the lists are Russian, a number of nationalities are represented including individuals from the U.S., Italy, Germany, and Belarus.

There are currently 147 international figures banned from entertaining the Ukrainian public in any way.

As reported earlier, the most recent entry ban notice was issued regarding an Italian artist Al Bano.

Among other notable figures there are: Russian film director, Nikita Mihalkov; American actor, Steven Seagal; American professional boxer, Roy Jones Jr; Russian ballet dancer, Nikolay Tsiskaridze; American lead singer of Limp Bizkit, Fred Durst; Russian pop-rock artist, Yulia Chicherina; Russian billionaire real estate mogul, Yelena Baturina; Russian film actor, Alexander Bashirov; Chairman of the Board of Directors of Lenfilm, Fyodor Bondarchuk; Russian singer, Alexander Buinov; Russian entertainer, Yuriy Galtsev; Russian writer, Arkadiy Inin; Belarusian TV presenter, Dzmitry Shepialeu

Those on the list become a persona non grata in Ukraine and cannot enter the country's territory.

As well as being banned from Ukrainian airwaves, musicians cannot perform in Ukraine, authors' books are not permitted to be sold, and actors' and directors' films are banned from the TV and cinemas.

Read alsoOver 150 Russian citizens denied entry to Ukraine in 2018 – SBU

At the same time, Ukraine's Ministry of Culture also compiles a catalogue for people who they say have a "high appreciation toward Ukraine."

This "white list" is comprised of cultural icons, actors, artists, and painters from around the world, who publicly support the idea of a sovereign and democratic Ukraine.

Ukraine's "white list" primarily features celebrities and prominent Russian writers and musicians, who are seen as deserving of the support of the Ukrainian state.

Among notable figures there are: American actor, Tim Roth; American actress, Hayden Panettiere; Russian rock musician, Andrey Makarevich; American singer and actor, Jared Leto; German singer of the Scorpions, Klaus Meine; Georgian born Russian writer, Boris Akunin; Georgian singer, Vakhtang Kikabidze Ukrainian-born American actress, Milla Jovovich; American actress, Vera Farmiga