Photo from UNIAN

The Verkhovna Rada, Ukraine's parliament, has appointed new members of the Central Election Commission (CEC).

The lawmakers held 17 separate votes on 17 candidates (resolutions No. 2211-2227), according to an UNIAN correspondent.

Read alsoZelensky vetoes new Electoral Code

In particular, 355 MPs voted for the appointment of CEC member Oksana Boyarchuk (with the minimum required number of 226), 345 for Yuriy Buhlak, 360 for Olena Hataullina, 353 for Andriy Hevko, 359 for Viktoria Hlushchenko, 361 for Vitaliy Gren, 367 for Oleh Didenko, 334 for Serhiy Dubovyk, 370 for Andriy Yevstihneyev, 373 for Iryna Yefremova, 375 for Oleksandra Karmaz, 370 for Pavlo Lyubchenko, 310 for Yuriy Miroshnychenko, 366 for Volodymyr Perepelyuk, 368 for Vitaliy Plukar, 370 for Serhiy Postivy, and 371 for Yuriy Frytsky.

After the appointment of the new CEC composition, most lawmakers rose from their seats and greeted the decision with applause.

As UNIAN reported earlier, a year ago, the Verkhovna Rada of the previous convocation increased the CEC's composition from 15 to 17 people. Only after this decision, Ukrainian MPs were able to update the CEC's composition.

The Central Election Commission headed by Tetiana Slipachuk worked for a short time. On September 13, after the presidential and parliamentary elections of 2019, the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted a resolution on the early termination of powers of the entire Central Election Commission.