EP Resolution urges release of Savchenko, Sentsov, Kolchenko

21:30, 10 September 2015
185 0

Members of the European Parliament have adopted the Reolution on September 10 urging Russian authorities to release the Estonian Eston Kohver, and Ukrainians Oleh Sentsov, Nadia Savchenko and Oleksandr Kolchenko condemning the "blatant violation of the territorial integrity of Ukraine and Estonia."


Parliament "strongly condemns the blatant violation of the territorial integrity of Ukraine and Estonia through the illegal kidnapping of citizens of both countries so that they could be charged before a Russian court," according to the EP website.

It stresses that the Russian courts are not competent to judge acts committed outside the internationally recognized territory of Russia.

MEPs urge the Russian Federation to release of all illegally detained prisoners and to guarantee their safe return to their home countries, in line with the agreed Package of Measures for the Implementation of the Minsk Agreements.

MEPs also called for the President of the European Council and the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy "to come up with a comprehensive policy strategy which would enable the EU to regain the initiative and to pursue a more clear-cut policy towards Russia." They ask the Council "to establish a common EU list of the officials responsible for the abduction, illegal detention and sentencing of Eston Kohver, Nadia Savchenko, Oleh Santsov and Oleksander Kolchenko, to impose and implement an EU-wide visa ban on these officials, and to freeze any financial assets that they, or their immediate family, may hold within the EU".

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter