As reported earlier, the leaders of the United States, Japan and Australia after a trilateral meeting at the G20 summit in Brisbane announced their intention to join forces to oppose Russia’s actions in Ukraine.

The United States, the European Union, Australia, New Zealand and Canada in mid-March introduced a first package of sanctions following the invasion and annexation of the Ukrainian territory of Crimea by Russia. The sanctions against Russia have been expanded since April due to Moscow's support for an armed insurgency in Ukraine’s Donbas region and the downing of Malaysian Airlines Flight MH17  near Donetsk.

The sanctions have hit a number of Russian politicians, businessmen, companies and banks. As a response to sanctions, Russia has banned imports of beef, pork, vegetables, poultry, cheeses and dairy products from the EU and the United States.