Ukraine is Not Russia / Photo from open sources

On December 12, the law on non-prolongation of the Treaty on Friendship, Cooperation and Partnership with Russia from April 2019 came into force.

On December 11, the law was published in the parliamentary gazette Holos Ukrainy.

The Treaty between Ukraine and the Russian Federation was signed in Kyiv on May 31, 1997, for a period of 10 years.

Видео дня

The Verkhovna Rada ratified the document on January 14, 1998, while the State Duma of the Russian Federation – on December 25, 1998.

Read alsoEnd of Friendship Treaty with Russia: How will "Kremlin Bear" react?

The Treaty entered into force on April 1, 1999 (from the date of the exchange of ratification instruments).

According to the Treaty, its validity was to be automatically extended for the next ten-year periods, if neither of the parties declared its will to terminate it at least six months prior to the expiration of the next ten-year period.

As UNIAN reported earlier, on December 10, President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko signed a law on non-prolonging the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Partnership with Russia.