Ukraine, Sweden, Lithuania, and Estonia have called on the Russian Federation to ensure unhindered access to Ukrainian ports in the Sea of Azov.

"We take note of the return to Ukraine of the vessels illegally captured by Russia in 2018 and call on Russia to comply with its international commitments by ensuring unhindered access to Ukrainian ports in the Sea of Azov and allowing freedom of navigation," the Foreign Ministers of Estonia, Lithuania, Sweden and Ukraine said in a statement on November 26.

The ministers recall their "unwavering support to the sovereignty, territorial integrity, unity and independence of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders."

Видео дня

Read alsoSome 500,000 Russians from mainland resettled to occupied Crimea – Ukraine official

"We urge Russia to respect international law and its fundamental principles and reverse moves that contravene these principles. We strongly condemn the clear violation of Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial integrity by acts of aggression by the Russian armed forces since February 2014 and the illegal annexation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol to the Russian Federation, which we will not recognise," they said.

The ministers said they "shall remain committed to implement the non-recognition policy, including through restrictive measures."

"The Ministers commend Ukraine for the relentless efforts to solve the conflict in eastern Ukraine, caused by Russia's ongoing aggression, by peaceful means for the benefit of the Ukrainian people and Europe as a whole," the statement said.

They underscore the importance of achieving a sustainable political solution to the conflict based on the full implementation of the Minsk agreements and call on Russia to "fully assume its responsibility in this regard."

"The Ministers reiterate the inherent right of every country to decide on its policy priorities, including its security arrangements. The recent parliamentary elections demonstrated the overwhelming support of the voters for the Euro-Atlantic aspirations of Ukraine and provided the new government with a strong mandate to continue the wide-ranging reforms. The success of these reforms will be crucial in laying the groundwork for a prosperous and peaceful Ukraine firmly anchored among European democracies and committed to our common European values, including democracy, human rights, gender equality and the rule of law. We stand ready to support Ukraine in these efforts, including in the framework of Eastern Partnership," they said.

The statement was signed by Foreign Minister of Estonia Urmas Reinsalu, Foreign Minister of Lithuania Linas Linkevičius, Foreign Minister of Sweden Ann Linde, and Foreign Minister of Ukraine Vadym Prystaiko.