Canada's Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs François-Philippe Champagne announced on Wednesday that Canada was imposing sanctions under the Special Economic Measures Act on six individuals involved in the illegitimate elections held in Russia-occupied Crimea on September 8, 2019, in concert with the United States and the European Union.

Read alsoPACE ratifies Russian delegation's credentials

"Canada's support for Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity is unwavering. Today's sanctions demonstrate that Canada and its allies stand united in their condemnation of Russia's illegal annexation of Crimea and the illegitimate elections held there last fall and that Canada and the international community are ready to impose a cost for ignoring international law and the rules-based international order," he said, according to the official website of the Government of Canada.

It is noted such coordinated action underscores the continued transatlantic unity in responding to Russia's aggressive actions in Ukraine and its violations of international law.

The government reiterates since Russia's illegal annexation of Crimea in 2014, Canada has sanctioned more than 430 individuals and entities, many in coordination with our allies. Canada's sanctions impose asset freezes and dealings prohibitions.