Ukraine elected non-permanent member of UN Security Council

19:04, 15 October 2015
2308 0

Ukraine has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Security Council of the United Nations for 2016-2017, with 177 countries voting in favor and 14 countries abstaining, according to an UNIAN correspondent. 


The results have been announced by President of the 70th session of the United Nations General Assembly, Mogens Lykketoft.

A total of 192 countries took part in voting and one ballot was recognized invalid.

UNIAN memo. The UN Security Council consists of 15 countries. The permanent members include the following five governments: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Each of the five permanent members of the Security Council has veto power over any matter voted upon by the Security Council.

The remaining ten non-permanent members of the total membership of fifteen countries are chosen based on various regions of the world. The ten non-permanent members serve two year terms and half are replaced each year in annual elections. Each region votes for its own representatives and the United Nations General Assembly approves the selections.

There are currently 193 Member States in the United Nations.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter