At its Friday meeting the Verkhovna Rada has approved the composition of the Cabinet of Ministers, according to Ukrainian News.

Parliament Speaker Oleksandr Moroz made this announcement during the meeting. The composition received 269 affirmative votes in view of the 226 required.

The members of the Cabinet and appointed nominees of Prime Minister Viktor Yanukovych are:

[1]   Prime Minister Viktor Yanukovych

[2-3] First Deputy Prime Minister/Minister of Finance Mykola Azarov, who is currently the deputy head of the Party of Regions faction in parliament,[Mykola Azarov holds two cabinet positions, AUR Editor]

[4-5] Deputy Prime Minister/Minister of Construction, Architecture and Housing and Utility Economy Volodymyr Rybak (deputy head of the Party of Regions faction in parliament) [Volodymyr Rybak holds two cabinet positions, AUR Editor]

[6]   Deputy Prime Minister Andrii Kliuev (deputy head of the Party of Regions faction in parliament),

[7]   Deputy Prime Minister Dmytro Tabachnyk (ex-deputy prime ministerin the former Yanukovych`s Cabinet),

[8]   Internal Affairs Minister Yurii Lutsenko (acting internal affairs minister),

[9]   Economy Minister Volodymyr Makukha,

[10] Fuel and Energy Minister Yurii Boiko (ex-head of Naftohaz Ukrainy national joint-stock company),

[11] Coal Industry Minister Serhii Tulub (parliamentary deputy of the Party of Regions),

[12] Industrial Policy Minister Anatolii Holovko,

[13] Agricultural Policy Minister Yurii Melnyk acting deputy prime minister),

[14] Transport and Communications Minster Mykola Rudkovskyi (parliamentary deputy of the Socialist Party),

[15] Environmental Protection Minister Vasyl Dzharty (parliamentary deputy of the Party of Regions),

[16] Minister for Emergency Situations and Protection of Population from Chornobyl Accident Consequences Viktor Baloha (incumbent minister for emergency situations),

[17] Labor and Social Policy Minister Mykhailo Papiev (ex-minister of labor and social policy),

18] Education and Science Minister Stanislav Nikolaenko (incumbent minister of education and science),

[19] Health Minister Yurii Poliachenko (incumbent minister of health),

[20] Culture and Tourism Minister Ihor Likhovyi (incumbent minister of culture and tourism),

[21] Youth, Family and Sports Minister Yurii Pavlenko (incumbent minister of youth, family and sports),

[22] Justice Minister Roman Zvarych (ex-minister of justice in the Yulia Tymoshenko Cabinet),

[23] Minister of the Cabinet of Ministers Anatolii Tolstoukhov (ex-minister of the Cabinet of Ministers), and

[24] Minister for Liaison with the Verkhovna Rada Ivan Tkalenko (ex-minister for liaison with the Verkhovna Rada.

The appointed nominees of President Viktor Yuschenko are

[25] Defense Minister Anatolii Hrytsenko, and

[26] Foreign Minister Borys Tarasiuk.

As Ukrainian News earlier reported, the Verkhovna Rada appointed Party of Regions leader Yanukovych to the post of prime minister on August 4.

The Cabinet of Ministers consists of 26 members, including the prime minister, first deputy prime minister, three deputy prime ministers and 20 ministers.

By Constitution the Verkhovna Rada appoints the prime minister, the minister of defense and the minister of foreign affairs upon recommendation of the president, and other Cabinet members upon recommendation of the prime minister. 

The news was monitored by The Action Ukraine Report (AUR) Monitoring Service, Morgan Williams, Editor.