Ukraine names specific units of Russian army who seized Crimea in 2014

13:00, 02 October 2016
1157 0

The Military Prosecutor's Office of Ukraine for the first time named the exact units of the Russian Armed Forces that took part in seizing Crimea and told about the training of the so-called Russian “little green men”, according to Hromadske Radio.

Photo from UNIAN

"The investigation established and found enough evidence for me to claim with confidence what units [of the Russian army] there were, " Military Prosecutor Ruslan Kravchenko told Hromadske Radio.

Read alsoUkraine's diplomat explains how to bypass Russia's veto in creating MH17 tribunal"In particular, it was the 31st Separate Air Assault Brigade of the Russian Airborne Troops, 45th Detached Special Forces Regiment of the Russian Airborne Troops (military unit 28 337), 18th Separate Motorized Rifle Brigade, 58th Army of the Southern Military District of the armed forces of the Russian Federation, the 98th Airborne Division of the Russian Airborne Troops (military unit 65 451), 76th Air Assault Division of the Russian Airborne Troops, 15th Separate Motor Rifle Brigade of Russia’s peacekeeping forces (military unit 90 600)."

Also, the prosecutor noted that in the process of preparation and conduct of aggressive warfare, all tactical signs and insignia had been removed in advance from military equipment and uniform of the Russian soldiers who participated in the annexation of Crimea.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter