The decision was made at a Foreign Affairs Council meeting in Luxembourg on Monday, June 19, 2017.

The sanctions will be in effect until June 23, 2018.

The extension of the measures was approved on June 6 by COREPER (French: Comité des représentants permanents), or the Committee of Permanent Representatives in the European Union.

Read alsoMFA Ukraine protests over Moscow delegation visiting occupied CrimeaThe measures apply to EU persons and EU based companies. They are limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol. The sanctions include prohibitions on imports of products originating in Crimea or Sevastopol into the EU; investment in Crimea or Sevastopol, meaning that no Europeans nor EU-based companies can buy real estate or entities in Crimea, finance Crimean companies or supply related services; tourism services in Crimea or Sevastopol, in particular, European cruise ships cannot call at ports in the Crimean peninsula, except in case of emergency.

Read alsoUkraine's Embassy to UK reacts to 'Russian' Crimea in British editionThey are also applicable to exports of certain goods and technologies to Crimean companies or for use in Crimea in the transport, telecommunications and energy sectors and related to the prospection, exploration and production of oil, gas and mineral resources. Technical assistance, brokering, construction or engineering services related to infrastructure in these sectors must not be provided either.

As stated in the declaration by the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy on behalf of the EU on March 13, 2016, the EU continues to condemn the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation and remains committed to fully implement its non-recognition policy.