22 October 2017
Our Community

Ukraine recommends its citizens cross Belarus-Russia border by plane only

Ukraine's Ministry of Foreign Affairs recommends that its citizens cross the border of Belarus with the Russian Federation by plane only. 


This announcement has been posted on the ministry's website.

This is due to the fact that referring to the absence of checkpoints through the Russian-Ukrainian state border, Russia banned its crossing by citizens of third countries, except Russian and Belarusian citizens. This rule is also applicable to diplomats and representatives of international organizations.

Lviv court finds Saakashvili guilty of illegally crossing Ukraine's borderSince May 15, 2017, the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs has been carrying out border control of aircraft arriving in Russia from Belarus and returning back.

"In this regard, all citizens of third countries, including members of diplomatic, administrative and technical personnel of diplomatic missions, consular offices and representative offices of international organizations are advised to use air transport for travel in keeping with the said route," the Foreign Ministry said.

Ukraine against EASA recommendations on closure of Kharkiv, Dnipro, Zaporizhia airportsThere are no existing agreements on border crossing points between Belarus and Russia, therefore the Belarusian border service does not exercise control over this part of the border, it said.

Tags: Russia, Belarus, border, travel, plane, MFA

If you notice a spelling error, please highlight it with your mouse and press Ctrl+Enter
Read also

Do you like the new site?
Leave your opinion