The Council of the European Union has extended for another year – until June 2021 – a ban for European companies on investment in Russia-occupied Crimea and imports of goods from the peninsula.

"Today the EU Council extended until June 2021 sanctions against Russia for the illegal occupation of Crimea. Well-appreciated! We need to step up pressure for human rights violations, illegal issuing of passports, Kerch railway construction, Russian polling in Crimea #CrimeaIsUkraine," Ukrainian Minister of Foreign Affairs (MFA) Dmytro Kuleba tweeted on June 18.

The Council adopted restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation in March 2014.

The measures apply to EU persons and EU based companies. They are limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol.

These measures include: an import ban on goods from Crimea and Sevastopol; restrictions on trade and investment related to certain economic sectors and infrastructure projects; a prohibition to supply tourism services in Crimea or Sevastopol; an export ban for certain goods and technologies.

Previously, the Council extended these measures on June 20, 2019, until June 23, 2020.