Five more Ukrainian cities will have their brand new police by June

23:59, 16 May 2016
356 0

Ukrainian Interior Minister Arsen Avakov has announced that the brand new police will start working in five more cities and towns by June.

Brand new police were introduced in Kramatorsk and Sloviansk on May 15, 2016 / Photo from UNIAN

"The [law-enforcement] reform is being implemented step-by-step," he tweeted on Sunday, May 15.

In particular, patrol police will begin to work in the cities of Kryvyi Rih and Mariupol, as well as in the towns of Lysychansk, Rubizhne, and Severodonetsk.

Read alsoCabinet posts endorsement of Zguladze's resignationIn his words, the patrol police are now working in 27 Ukrainian cities and towns, including Kramatorsk and Sloviansk, where the brand new police were introduced on May 15 after they had taken the oath of allegiance to the Ukrainian people.

Read alsoUkraine's ex-cop reveals details of his participation in Crimea takeoverKramatorsk and Sloviansk were under Russian occupation in from April 12, 2014, to July 5, 2014. 

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter