The United States has been put on the green zone list / REUTERS

Ukraine's Health Ministry has updated the list of countries in the red and green zones as of March 12, 2021.

Compared to the previous week, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Liechtenstein again have been put on the red zone list, while Spain, the United States and Peru have been put on the green zone list.

Such popular tourist destinations as Georgia, the Dominican Republic, Egypt, Morocco, Mexico, Thailand, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkey, Croatia, and Sri Lanka are still part of the green zone, while Albania, Bulgaria, the Maldives, the UAE, the Seychelles, and Montenegro remain in the red zone.

Видео дня

Red zone

As of March 12, a total of 51 countries were in the red zone (last week there were 54), including: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Poland, San Marino, Serbia, the Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, the United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, and others.

Read alsoCOVID-19: Ukraine to issue international vaccine certificatesUpon returning from a red zone destination, Ukrainians are obliged to self-quarantine using the Dii Vdoma mobile application. Early termination of self-isolation period is possible after a negative PCR test result returns.

To enter Ukraine, all foreigners need a valid insurance policy that covers COVID-19 treatment costs. Persons arriving from the red zone countries, if they have a negative COVID-19 PCR test result run no earlier than 48 hours prior to crossing in, shall not be subject to observation.

Green zone

As of March 12, the zone covers Ukraine and 142 other countries, including: Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bolivia, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Denmark, the Dominican Republic, Egypt, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Madagascar, Morocco, Nepal, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, the Republic of Korea, Romania, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, Uzbekistan, Zimbabwe, and others.

Upon returning from those countries, no COVID-19 testing or self-isolation is required.

At the same time, when a destination is in the green zone, it does not mean that Ukrainian tourists can go there freely. Most of those countries have imposed quarantine restrictions, which, among other things, include a travel ban for foreign tourists. The rules of entry to each country are available on the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry's Tripadvisor website at

A complete list of the red and green zone countries has been posted on the Health Ministry's website.