The decisions will facilitate the implementation of the Normandy Four leaders' agreements / Photo from UNIAN

The Trilateral Contact Group (TCG) consisting of representatives of Ukraine, Russia, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), has agreed on four new disengagement sites in Donbas Eastern Ukraine.

The decision was reached at a recent TCG meeting in the format of a video conference with the participation of the new head of the Ukrainian delegation, Leonid Kravchuk, and the first deputy head of the delegation, Vitold Fokin, according to the press service of the Ukrainian President's Office.

"The subgroup on security issues has reached an agreement on 20 demining sites within the updated plan sealed in the December 9, 2019 communique of the Paris Normandy Four summit," the statement said.

Видео дня

According to the press service, this will facilitate the implementation of the agreements reached by the Normandy leaders.

Read alsoPrisoner swap: Ukraine submits list with 100 names to OSCE

Also, the Ukrainian side supported the need to develop a framework decision of the TCG on mine action, which will help to optimize further work on this issue.

The humanitarian subgroup also reached progress on issues related the mutual release of detainees.

"The Ukrainian side has once again emphasized the importance of fulfilling all agreements on confirming the list of mutual release of the detained persons and confirmed the information about the persons checked by the participants in the consultations," it said.

Kravchuk and Fokin in TCG

  • On July 30, President Volodymyr Zelensky appointed Leonid Kravchuk as chairman of the Ukrainian delegation to the Trilateral Contact Group in Minsk.
  • On August 4, Kravchuk announced that Vitold Fokin was offered the position of "communications coordinator for all parties" within the TCG.
  • On August 18, Fokin officially joined the negotiating group.