The Government of Montenegro has joined other countries in a move to expel Russian diplomats and declared one Russian diplomat persona non grata.

Read alsoLuxembourg's ambassador to Russia recalled – media

"The Government of Montenegro has made a decision to declare a diplomatic representative accredited to the Embassy of the Russian Federation persona non grata and to withdraw the consent of the honorary consul of the Russian Federation in Montenegro. The Embassy of the Russian Federation in Podgorica was informed of the measures with a seven-day deadline for the diplomatic representative to leave Montenegro," the Government of Montenegro said on its official website.

Видео дня

"Montenegro has taken this decision in coordination with our allies, in line with measures taken by EU and NATO members regarding the actions of Russia and the nerve-gas attack on the territory of the United Kingdom which have been immediately strongly condemned by the Government of Montenegro, in solidarity with our British partners," it said.