David Sassoli elected European Parliament president

15:10, 03 July 2019
498 0

Sassoli won 345 votes in the second round of balloting. Jan Zahradil won 160 votes and Ska Keller 119, according to POLITICO.

Read alsoKremlin wants to deploy to PACE "deputies" from annexed Crimea: media

He is due to serve for two-and-a half years – half the parliamentary term – before passing the torch to a member of the center-right European People's Party for the rest of the mandate.

In his remarks to MEPs before the vote, Sassoli – who as a former TV journalist has a profile in Italy but is not well known outside the country – said he had decided to run because "Europe will be stronger only with a Parliament which plays a more important role."

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter