Armenia and Azerbaijan have agreed to a humanitarian truce in the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region from 00:00 local time on October 18.

Read alsoUN Security Council calls on Armenia, Azerbaijan to stop fighting"The Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan have agreed to a humanitarian truce as of October 18, 00:00 local time," the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Armenia said on its website on October 17.

"This decision was taken following the statement of the Presidents of the French Republic, the Russian Federation and the United States of America, representing the co-chair countries of the OSCE Minsk Group, of October 1, 2020, the Statement by the Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group of October 5, and in line with Moscow Statement of October 10, 2020," the ministry said.

Видео дня

Nagorno-Karabakh conflict: Background

  • On the morning of Sunday, September 27, fighting resumed between Armenia and Azerbaijan in the disputed Nagorno-Karabakh region. Both countries blamed each other for shelling as a result of which they suffered casualties.
  • Armenia and the unrecognized Nagorno-Karabakh Republic declared martial law and general mobilization.
  • Azerbaijan, in turn, introduced martial law on September 28. Partial mobilization was announced in that country.
  • Ukrainian Foreign Minister Dmytro Kuleba has said Ukraine consistently supports the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan.
  • The UN Security Council has called on Armenia and Azerbaijan to immediately stop fighting.

Nagorno-Karabakh war: History

  • The conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region began in 1988, when the predominantly Armenian-populated Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Oblast announced its withdrawal from the Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic.
  • In 1991-1994, the bloodshed conflict continued in the region, which ended with the signing of a ceasefire protocol. Nagorno-Karabakh proclaimed itself an independent "republic." Azerbaijan did not recognize this, considering the territory to have been occupied by Armenia.