The two delegations discussed a peaceful settlement of the conflict / Photo from the Kyrgyz government

Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan have signed a joint protocol on the delimitation and demarcation of the Kyrgyz-Tajik border.

The two countries' governmental delegations met in Batken region, Kyrgyzstan, to sign the document, the Kyrgyz government's press service said.

Read alsoPope Francis expresses concern over escalation in Donbas, appeals for peace

Видео дня

The delegations' heads announced the need for a peaceful settlement of the conflict on the common border.

"An agreement was reached to facilitate efforts to further draw where the blank line of the Kyrgyz-Tajik state border should run along the remaining sections of the state border," it said.

The joint protocol was signed following the delegations' meeting.

Conflict between Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan

  • On April 29, 2021, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan accused each other of escalating the conflict on the border. Both sides reported civilian deaths, including children, and dozens of the injured. As a result, additional forces were pulled to the borders, but in the end, the sides agreed on a ceasefire and the withdrawal of their military troops.
  • On April 30, 2021, the exchange of fire in the Leilek district on the Kyrgyz-Tajik border continued again. Yet, both sides agreed later on to withdraw all troops.
  • In just two days, 31 people died as a result of the conflict on the border between Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan; 123 people were injured.
  • On May 1, 2021, the presidents of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan held telephone talks. They discussed a complete ceasefire on the border between the countries and the withdrawal of the military from the deployment zone.