Photo from UNIAN

Ex-President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko has been elected chairman of the European Solidarity Party.

The decision was made at a party congress on May 31, according to an UNIAN correspondent.

Read alsoZelensky submits impeachment bill to parliament

On May 31, the congress elected its central council and party presidium. The central council, in particular, included First Deputy Speaker of Ukraine's Parliament Iryna Gerashchenko, journalist Vitaliy Gaydukevich, leader of the Bloc of Petro Poroshenko parliamentary faction Artur Gerasimov, MPs Mariya Ionova, Tetiana Rychkova, Nina Yuzhanina, political scientist Serhiy Taran.

Party leader Petro Poroshenko, Gerashchenko, Ionova, Gaydukevich and others were elected to the party's presidium.

The next gathering of the European Solidarity Party is to be held before June 10.

On May 24, the Congress of the Bloc of Petro Poroshenko "Solidarity" Party decided to rename the political force. It became the European Solidarity Party.

Poroshenko applied for party membership and received a party member's card on May 30.