The Cabinet of Ministers, Ukraine's government, temporarily bans foreigners from entering Ukraine and terminates regular international passenger service till April 3.

"To ensure the implementation of the NSDC [National Security and Defense Council] decisions on counteracting the spread of the novel coronavirus in Ukraine, the Cabinet of Ministers at an extraordinary meeting on March 14 adopted an order to temporarily suspend the crossing of the state border aimed at preventing the spread of COVID-19 in the territory of the country," according to a statement published on the government portal.

Read alsoZelensky addresses Ukrainians, confirms suspension of all air travel from March 17 (Video)

Видео дня

The document stipulates for the following: starting from 00:00 March 17, 2020, to April 3, temporarily close border checkpoints for regular international passenger services (with the exception of a number of categories of citizens); starting from 00:00 March 16, 2020, to April 3, temporarily ban crossing the state border for entry to Ukraine for foreigners and stateless persons (with the exception of a number of categories of citizens).

The document also contains instructions for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to inform the diplomatic corps of foreign states in Ukraine, as well as foreign diplomatic institutions about the mentioned restrictions.

In addition, the government authorized the Deputy Minister of Health, Chief Sanitary and Epidemiological Doctor of Ukraine to exercise certain powers, namely: regarding conducting epidemiological surveillance (control), prevention of the emergence and spread of infectious diseases, localization and elimination of outbreaks and epidemics. Moreover, it was instructed to designate authorized persons to perform the functions of the Chief State Sanitary Doctors in the regions.

The decision was adopted taking into account the objections.