Austrian parliament's upper chamber ratifies EU-Ukraine Association Agreement

11:30, 24 July 2015
386 0

The Bundesrat, the upper chamber of the Austrian Parliament, has ratified the Association Agreement between Ukraine and the European Union, according to Ukraine’s Ambassador to Austria Oleksandr Scherba.

"The upper chamber of the Austrian Parliament voted for the ratification of the Association Agreement. Thank you and my congratulations!" he tweeted on Friday.

18 countries completed the ratification procedure, four countries ratified the agreement, but did not send the documents to Brussels, while four countries ratified the agreement in one of the chambers of parliament, Europeiska Pravda reported on July 09. Only two countries - Greece and Cyprus - have not held a single vote on the issue.

As UNIAN reported earlier, the Ukrainian Ministry of Foreign Affairs expects that all EU member states will ratify the Association Agreement by the end of 2015.

If you see a spelling error on our site, select it and press Ctrl+Enter